blogging

Honored to have contributed on the doctrine of command responsibility to the newest edition of ICC Forum, an online publisher of essays on human rights and international criminal law. My essay was one of several responding to this question, posed by the editors:

“What does the Bemba Appeal Judgment say about superior responsibility under Article 28 of the Rome Statute?”

My own response, entitled “In Bemba, Command Responsibility Doctrine Ordered to Stand Down,” amplified an argument I’d made in an EJIL: Talk! contribution last year (prior post).

Specifically, it traced the development of the international-humanitarian- law/law-of-armed-conflict-doctrine that places on military commanders a burden greater than that shouldered by other combatants. It then turned to the International Criminal Court Appeals Chamber’s 2018 judgment in Bemba. The majority’s interpretation of the ICC Statute’s command-responsibility provision, my essay argued, risks tolerating “derelictions of duty” so as “to condone indiscipline,” and thus “to increase the risks of the very harms that the doctrine of command responsibility is intended to dispel.” As a result, perhaps “no one can be held to account.”

Other invited experts who contributed essays were: Miles Jackson, Associate Professor of Law, Jesus College, University of Oxford; Michael A. Newton, Professor of the Practice of Law and Political Science at Vanderbilt University Law School; Nadia Carine Fornel Poutou, Executive President Association of Women Lawyers of Central African Republic; and Leila Nadya Sadat, James Carr Professor of International Criminal Law at Washington University School of Law.

ICC Forum is supported by the Promise Institute for Human Rights at UCLA School of Law; UCLA Law Professor Richard H. Steinberg serves as Editor-in-Chief.

TwitterCruise7Concern about the dearth of international law women with online or op-ed presence helped launch IntLawGrrls in 2007. Since then, the blog (archives here, current posts here) has welcomed hundreds of  women who’ve posted on a range of issues related to international, comparative, and transnational law and policy.

Recent buzz in Foreign Policy about the dearth of women writing in that field prompted a search for @IntLawGrrls; that is, IntLawGrrls contributors now posting on Twitter. (image credit) For readers who’d like to follow favorites there, here’s a list:

Aziza Ahmed: @AzizaAhmed
Karen J. Alter: @AlterKaren
Diane Marie Amann: @DianeMarieAmann
Elizabeth Andersen: @AndersenBetsy

Sandra L. Babcock: @sandralbabcock
Sari Bashi: @saribashi
Nadia Bernaz: @HRightsBusiness
Jillian Blake: @JilliBlake
Sadie Blanchard: @sadie_blanchard
Carolyn Patty Blum: @PattyBlum
Rosa Brooks: @brooks_rosa
Elizabeth Burleson: @BurlesonInst
Mira Burri: @miraburri

Naomi Cahn: @NaomiCahn
Liz Campbell: @lizjcampbell
Aparna Chandra: @aparnachandra
Louise Chappell: @chappell_louise
Ioana Cismas: @IoanaCismas
Kathleen Clark: @clarkkathleen
Kamari Maxine Clarke: @KamMClarke

Colin Dayan: @mehdidog
Fiona de Londras: @fdelond
Jessica Dorsey: @jessicadorsey
Mary L. Dudziak: @marydudziak
Angela Duger: @UDHR_Duger

Christie Edwards: @cjoye7
Máiréad Enright: @maireadenright
Noura Erakat: @4noura
Daphne Eviatar: @deviatar
Andrea Ewart: @developtradelaw

Marjorie Florestal: @MarjorieFlo
Rosa Freedman: @GoonerDr

Anne Gallagher: @AnneTGallagher

Jill Goldenziel: @JillGoldenziel
Michele Bratcher Goodwin: @michelebgoodwin

Lisa Hajjar: @lisahajjar
Leslie Haskell: @HaskellLeslie
Gina Heathcote: @gina_heathcote
Karen Hoffmann: @karhoff
Sofie A. E. Høgestøl: @sofiehogestol

Joanna Cuevas Ingram: @4truejustice

Olga Jurasz: @olga_jurasz

Elise Keppler: @EliseKeppler

Rebecca Eve Landy: @RebeccaEveLandy
Hope Lewis: @ProfHopeLewis
Jennifer Lind: @profLind

Vanessa MacDonnell: @vanessa_macd

Hope Elizabeth May: @selfconcordance
Clare McGlynn: @McGlynnClare
Chi Mgbako: @chiadanna
Lelia Mooney: @Lelia_Mooney

Luz Estella Nagle: @LuzEstella
Fionnuala Ní Aoláin: @NiAolainF

Mary Ellen O’Connell: @OConnell_IntLaw
Aoife O’Donoghue: @aoifemod
Hari M. Osofsky: @HariOsofsky
Aminta Ossom: @AmintaOssom

Elaine Pearson: @PearsonElaine
Nicole Phillips: @BuddhistLawyer

Noëlle Quénivet: @NoelleQuenivet1

Susan Harris Rimmer: @FemInt
Mónica Roa: @MonicaRoa
Sarah Rogerson: @RogersonSarah

Kim Thuy Seelinger: @ktseelinger
Pam Spees: @PamSpees
Margaret Stock: @MargaretDStock
Staci Strobl: @Staci_Strobl

Jessica Tillipman: @JTillipman
Kellie Toole: @KellieToole

Beth Van Schaack: @BethVanSchaack
Monika Kalra Varma: @monikakv

Judith Weingarten: @zenobia1
Lesley Wexler: @lesley_wexler

Pamela Yates: @pameladyates